Picture
Professor of Religion, Dr. Sayers, answers the Proust Questionnaire:

1. What is your greatest fear?
Being alone for the rest of my life. I have recently divorced and am having trouble seeing the future. I want someone to share my life with, but worry I won’t find someone.

2. What do you like most about yourself?
My sense of humor. It is the only thing I am completely confident in, even when no one around me finds anything I say funny, I am able to enjoy myself and laugh.

3. If you could change something about yourself, what would it be?
I would like to have more patience. I have been working on patience my whole life and only been making progress recently. The more patient I become the better my life is, so I want it even more.

4. What is your favorite quote?
Time ripens all beings by itself, in itself. But no one here on earth knows one whom Time has fully ripened. - Mahabharata 12.231.25

5. What do you think is your greatest achievement?
Surviving the crushing insecurity and the almost offensive arrogance I affected to compensate for it during my early adulthood.

6. Who is your favorite musician?
Just one? I don’t really have favorites of anything; I love variety too much and change my mind too often. I love Jimi Hendrix, Ray Charles, Prince, the Red Hot Chili Peppers, Pete Drodge, the Beatles, Styx, among many others depending on my mood.

7. Who is your favorite fictional hero?
Drizzt Do'Urden. He is a character in a series of fantasy novels. He struggles with discovering, rejecting, and changing his true nature and is constantly working to identity and do the right thing.

8. What are you most looking forward to in the future?
Flying cars. It’s always been flying cars. Just kidding. I am looking forward to meeting the man my son will become. He is 12 and at that awkward tipping point between child and teenager and the person I see emerging is a hoot. I can’t wait to see what he does.

9. In what historical time period would you most like to live?
I am pretty happy living at this time. I am a product of the 20th century and would never survive the rigorous life necessary in the past. Besides these are interesting times.

10. What living celebrity do you most admire?
I am troubled by our notion of celebrity. I admire people who work to change the world, in small ways and big ways, yet remain true to themselves in the process. Celebrity tends to undermine efforts at the latter. Though he gets a bad rap for some things, I think I do appreciate Bill Gates’ shift from business to philanthropist. He has given away a significant portion of his wealth in the cause of making the world better and has championed causes around the world, not just here in America.


Trish Harkins
3/12/2013 10:40:29 am

That is the creepiest picture of Dr. Sayers.

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Mission

    Pop culture and fashion magazine Vanity Fair features a unique, interactive "Proust Questionnaire," which asks the famous and the infamous to answer some of life's most important questions. Our mission is to ask a similar type of questionnaire to the people in our lives. What was the greatest moment in your life? What do you most fear? These types of questions lend much interesting personal information. Get to know Lebanon Valley College staff, students, and faculty through the Proust Questionnaire!

    Archives

    May 2013
    April 2013
    March 2013

    Categories

    All